Another day, another opportunity

So last night I learnt a hard lesson. No exercise = no sleep. Now I’m exhausted, have eaten terrible food and don’t feel great. People wonder why I don’t take a day off and this is the very reason! I had also developed a callus on my hand and was waiting for that to go down. It’s fine now. Back to the gym today.

I did, however get to spend some time with my bass. I played for enjoyment. If I got bored, I changed the song. This lead to me skipping between The Beatles and The Clash mostly. I like it though. I think I’m going to take a more relaxed approach to things and just enjoy the ride, rather than the frustrated “but I just need to know how to play it!” approach. That never ends well. As one of my friends once said to me “don’t practice, just play”. He’s usually pretty good with advice and he’s not wrong here, either.

I’m also (still) making my way through the Springsteen collection. I bought some new Jack White yesterday and I happened to see some footage of Bruce and band playing Higher and Higher. Geez, that man gives just about everyone a run for their money, doesn’t he? It’s all about the experience. Each day it’s like falling in love with music all over again. Thank you, Bruce for that.

Leave a comment