A blog, but not a blog

Today’s blog is an open letter to a songwriter who has been inspiring me a lot musically at the moment

Dear sir

Having only just discovered your music, I feel I have come somewhat late to the party. I am not pretending to be Robert Falcon Scott or Sherlock Holmes, I’ve heard the songs before, I guess I just wasn’t really listening until now. Maybe it’s that annoying condition that humans are prone to called ignorance?

Anyway, I digress. This week I started to listen. My ears opened and my mind discovered your songs (well at least the few on my playlist). from what i have heard, the songs are perfectly constructed, as though they were built by Baccio Pontelli or painted by Fredrick McCubbin.

I can see myself playing every note, I want to learn every part of these songs. I want to understand them better. I find them inspiring and I don’t know whether its just that I’ve been hearing them for years, but every note seems to make sense. The guitars come in at the perfect time. The bass is a hidden undercurrent, pulled out only when the song calls for it, the keys hold everything together and the drums drive everything forward. It really feels like music at it’s finest. I understand now why I have friends who are against the idea of covers, like your music is something to be untouched by the masses. I still disagree with this – all music is there to be played, to be played with, deconstructed, reconstructed and allowed to breathe.

Anyway, this is a rather long and bloated version of what I really wanted to say, which is thank you for writing songs that sound so great and effectively inspiring me to be a better musician.

Cheers,
Ax

Song of the day is the E Street Shuffle. Enjoy

Leave a comment